Board honored with certificates
by James Phillips
Feb 13, 2013 | 1695 views | 0 0 comments | 4 4 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Superintendent Jason Adkins took time Tuesday afternoon to recognize members of the Walker County Board of Education as a part of School Board Appreciation Month.

“We’re a little late doing this, but the folks on this board work so hard that they need to be recognized for what they do,” Adkins said. “Personally, I want to take each one of you out to lunch individually some time in the next week, but we also have a little something to recognize you tonight.”

Adkins presented each board member with a certificate of appreciation. Current board members include Chairman Brand Ingle, Jamie Rigsby, Dale Reeves, Bill Edd Gilbert and Sonia Waid.

“We appreciate being recognized like that, but we can’t make good decisions without people pointing out things and keeping us informed,” Reeves said. “Jason (Adkins) has done a good job of that, and we appreciate the work he puts in as well.”

The school system’s curriculum department was also recognized Tuesday for its work in college and career readiness. The state recognized the department as one of two school systems in the state with best practices in that area.

“There were two school systems listed as best practices and we were one of them,” Adkins said. “Due to that, other school systems will be visiting here to see how we do things. The first one is scheduled to visit on Feb. 25. I think this recognition is definitely something to be proud of. That department, led by Joel Hagood, is doing a fantastic job.”

In other action, the board:

•Approved 12 different school trips with several being to the state Beta Club convention.

•Adopted the Walker County Board of Education Code of Conduct for Local School Board Governance.

•Approved Leo Dunagan (Sumiton School), Jonathan Lay (Oakman High), Amanda Willcutt (Oakman Middle) and Brad Ford (Oakman Middle) as volunteer softball coaches.