Carbon Hill's Owens a finalist for 3A Player of the Year
by From the ASWA
Mar 28, 2012 | 1132 views | 0 0 comments | 7 7 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Carbon Hill’s Tylor Owens makes a behind-the-back pass against Greensboro. Owens is a finalist for the 3A Player of the Year.
Carbon Hill’s Tylor Owens makes a behind-the-back pass against Greensboro. Owens is a finalist for the 3A Player of the Year.
Carbon Hill senior Tylor Owens has already picked up plenty of accolades this season.

Now he’s up for the top honor in Class 3A.

Owens is one of three finalists competing for the Alabama Sports Writers Association’s (ASWA) 3A Player of the Year award.

The other finalists are Greensboro junior Jimmie Taylor and Madison Academy eighth grader Josh Langford.

Owens led the Bulldogs to a state runner-up finish this season. Carbon Hill closed the year with a 27-8 record after a loss to Greensboro in the title game. Owens averaged 16.4 points, 4.6 rebounds, 3.5 assists and 2.5 steals per game.

The winners in each class, as well as the 2012 Mr. and Miss Basketball, will be announced on April 11 at the Alabama Activity Center in Montgomery at the ASWA’s annual Player of the Year banquet, sponsored by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors and Coaches Association.

The ASWA released its list of finalists on Wednesday — three boys and three girls in each class among the six classes in the Alabama High School Athletic Association and one in the Alabama Independent Schools Association.

None of the seven winners among last year’s boys return to defend their crown, and 21 new players have the opportunity to become Mr. Basketball, won last season by Butler’s Trevor Lacey, now at Alabama.

The girls side is a different story. Not only is the reigning Miss Basketball — West Morgan’s Hayden Hamby — back to compete for that crown as well as her Class 3A Player of the Year honor, but Class 6A winner Jasmine Jones and Class 1A winner Alex Gholston of R.A. Hubbard were also named finalists in their respective classes.

In addition, last season’s Class 4A Player of the Year at Brewbaker Tech, Marqu’es Webb, is a finalist with Class 6A Hoover.

One school — Pickens County — has two players competing for the same award in De’Marko Hall and Lajuan Doss as Class 1A Boys Player of the Year.

Five other schools — Bob Jones in Class 6A, Faith Academy (5A), Midfield (4A), Madison Academy (3A) and Lee-Scott Academy (AISA) have finalists in both boys and girls.

The finalists are:


CLASS 6A: Jeffery Moss, Bob Jones, Sr., G, 6-4; Lewis Sullivan, Hazel Green, So., F, 6-7; Craig Sword, Carver-Montgomery, Sr., G, 6-3.

CLASS 5A: Petey McClain, Faith Acad., Sr., G, 6-0; Riley Norris, Albertville, So., F, 6-7; Derunnya Wilson, Wenonah, Jr., F, 6-6.

CLASS 4A: Brandon Moss, Midfield, Sr., F/G, 6-4; Justin Pride, Butler, Sr., PG, 5-10; Jacard Townsend, Andalusia, Sr., F, 6-3.

CLASS 3A: Josh Langford, Madison Acad., 8th, G, 6-4; Tylor Owens, Carbon Hill, Sr., G, 5-10; Jimmie Taylor, Greensboro, Jr., C, 6-9.

CLASS 2A: Wendell Snow, Central-Hayneville, Sr., C, 6-6; Takwain Whigham, Barbour Co., Sr., G/F, 6-3; Stefan Zecevic, Asbury, Sr., G, 6-5.

CLASS 1A: LaJuan Doss, Pickens Co., Sr., G, 6-1; De’Marko Hall, Pickens Co., Sr., G, 5-10; DeAngelo Hardy, Cedar Bluff, Jr., F, 6-3.

AISA: K.J. Cash, Evangel Chr., Sr., F, 6-2; MarQuen Mitchell, Lee-Scott Acad., Jr., G, 6-0; Jake Newcomb, Prattville Chr., Jr., C, 6-2.


CLASS 6A: Jasmine Jones, Bob Jones, Sr., F, 6-1; Marqu’es Webb, Hoover, Jr., F, 6-1; Morgan William, Shades Valley, So., PG, 5-3.

CLASS 5A: Riley Northway, Brewer, So., C, 6-0; Jasmine Rhodes, Faith Acad., Jr., G, 5-9; Shakayla Thomas, Sylacauga, So., F, 5-10.

CLASS 4A: Lacey Buchanon, Jacksonville, Sr., G, 5-1; Alexis Horton, Andalusia, Sr., G, 5-4; Jasmine Steele, Midfield, Sr., G, 5-1.

CLASS 3A: Hayden Hamby, West Morgan, Sr., G, 5-7; Daneshia Malone, Clements, Jr., C, 6-0; Lydia McGee, Madison Acad., Sr., G/F, 5-10.

CLASS 2A: Taylor Adams, Section, Sr., C, 6-0; Jordan Johnson, Hatton, Sr., C, 5-11; Leah Strain, Woodland, So., G, 5-4.

CLASS 1A: Alex Gholston, R.A. Hubbard, Jr., G, 5-6; Anna Claire Noblit, Covenant Chr., So., G, 5-7; Amber Roberts, McIntosh, Jr., F, 6-0.

AISA: Rachel Bell, Wilcox Acad., Sr., G, 5-8; Breanne DeBaets, Lee-Scott Acad., Jr., G, 5-9; Quilla Robinson, Crenshaw Chr., Jr., G, 5-6.