Just two races on ballot in Oakman municipal election
Jul 25, 2012 | 1245 views | 0 0 comments | 5 5 recommendations | email to a friend | print
OAKMAN — With municipal elections just over a month away, there will only be two races in Oakman’s city elections.

The race for mayor will come down to three candidates: current mayor Joyce Todd, council member Dennis Welch and resident Jackie Anderson.

The only other municipal race will be for council place 5. There will be a choice between Myra Heron and Sara Wood.

The other council places will be uncontested races. For council place 1, current council member Marion Constant will be the only member returning to the council. Place 2 will be occupied by Christopher Harvey, place 3 by Crystal Glover Lewis and place 4 by Roger B. Kimbrell.

Council members Patt Blackwell and Steve Windham are not running for relelection.

The Oakman City Council has not met for two consecutive months after failing to establish a quorum at the June and July council meetings.

Their next regularly scheduled meeting will be Monday, Aug. 20, at 5:30 p.m.

A called meeting is expected before then, because councils must appoint election officials on or prior to Aug. 13 for the municipal election.