Rollins elected new Jasper City Council president
by David Lazenby
Nov 03, 2010 | 1495 views | 0 0 comments | 6 6 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Two members of the Jasper City Council, Gary Cowen and Johnny Rollins, swapped seats during Tuesday’s meeting when the board elected a new Council president.

Rollins, who will serve as president for the next 12 months, said the method of annually rotating the Council presidency has worked well.

“It’s a good system,” he said about the process adopted by city officials in 2004.

Cowen said the president oversees meetings, making sure that Robert’s Rules of Order are followed. The president has a vote on city matters, but is not allowed to ask for motions or second them.

Prior to 2004, the Council president was elected in an at-large basis, whereas other councilors were elected within their districts.

Cowen said the change saved the city money because previously the Council president received a higher rate of pay.

When the Council decided to adopt the rotation system, it decided councilors would keep their same rate of pay regardless of the capacity they were serving.

After the change in the guard, Rollins complimented Cowen, who ended his third term as president Tuesday.

“I appreciate Gary,” Rollins said. “He has done a wonderful job.”

Because the officials decided to make Councilor Lee Swann its permanent president pro tem, he is not part of the rotation into the president’s seat.