Scott, Gilbert in runoff for seat as Mayor of Cordova
Aug 29, 2012 | 3731 views | 0 0 comments | 9 9 recommendations | email to a friend | print
CORDOVA — Incumbent Jack Scott will face 25-year-old Drew Gilbert in a runoff for the Cordova mayor’s race Oct. 9.

Gilbert received 282 out of 572 votes cast, or 49 percent of the total. Scott, who was elected in 2004 and again in 2008, received 161 votes, or 28 percent.

Gilbert, an alumnus of Cordova High School and the University of North Alabama, was appointed to the city council following a vacancy in District 3 last fall. He expressed his appreciation for all of the voters who came out to support his candidacy on Tuesday.

“I’m very excited to have gotten 49 percent of the vote against an incumbent. It’s stressful knowing that I’ll need this kind of turnout again in a little over a month, but I know that I can count on my supporters,” Gilbert said.

Scott narrowly missed a runoff four years ago but was unable to carry the vote in his third campaign for mayor.

“I’m disappointed in the percentages, but if that’s what the people want, we’ll just have to wait and see. Congratulations to Drew,” Scott said.

The third mayoral candidate in the race, Randy Fielding, quickly threw his support to Gilbert upon learning the results Tuesday night.

Fielding received 129 votes, or 23 percent of the total.

“I’m happy for Drew. He and I have a lot of the same ideas. Hopefully, he can accomplish them and do some good for the city,” Fielding said.

The results released Tuesday night are unofficial. City officials said they will be delivering a dozen provisional ballots to the Board of Registrars today and expect to have a final count within the next seven days.

District 5 representative Paul Lawson will also be in a runoff in October against Stephen Tidwell. Lawson received 28 votes to Tidwell’s 31. Jimmy Kelly received 24 votes.

Longtime council member Warren Branch defeated Emily Pinegar Ezelle for the District 1 seat with 45 votes to Ezelle’s 28.

James “J.J.” Johnson will replace Sandra Stricklen in District 6. Johnson received 37 votes to Stricklen’s 23.

Bradley Grace, Bobby Busby, Ed Earp and Lauren Gilbert Vance ran unopposed for their respective council seats.

Gross re-elected as Parrish mayor

Parrish Mayor Wayne Gross won re-election in Tuesday’s municipal election.

Gross defeated his opponent James Smith Jr., 182 to 126. A total of 308 votes were cast for the mayoral race.

“I want to congratulate my opponent Brother Smitty for doing so well in the mayor’s race,” Gross said. “He is a friend of mine, and I don’t have anything but good things to say about him.”

Gross said the race was decently run.

He also said he believes that letting everybody do their job has worked well for Parrish, and he plans to continue that practice. “Nothing is going to change, I’m going to do what I’ve been doing, and that’s leaving everybody alone and letting them do their job,” Gross said. “I think everybody works harmoniously together, and that’s the secret to why positive things are happening in Parrish.”

The race for the Parrish District 2 council seat ended in a run-off between William Banks and Alice McGee. Out of the 50 votes cast in District 2, McGee received 24 votes, Banks 16 and Jared “Bubba” Cagle 10.

Jackie Shanklin defeated Eric “Dooley” Ollie and Willie Woods for the District 4 council seat with Shanklin collecting 50 of the 93 votes cast to Ollie’s 27 and Woods 16.

District 5 incumbent Cedric Ramsey received 37 of the 65 votes cast, winning a spot on the Parrish Town Council. Ramsey’s opponent, Charles Dean, received a total of 28 votes.

A total of 310 votes were cast Tuesday in the Parrish’s municipal election.

— Elane Jones

Oakman mayor race headed to a runoff

In Oakman, Dennis Welch received 111 votes and incumbent Joyce Todd and Jackie Anderson each received 63 votes. Todd also received one absentee vote, leaving her total at 64. There are currently five provisional votes that will have to be counted to determine who Welch will face in the Oct. 9 runoff election.

"I would just like to thank the people who came out and supported me," Welch said. "I hope they'll all come out and support me again in the runoff."

In Oakman’s only council race, Sarah Woods received 148 votes to Myra Herron’s 90.

- Rachel Davis