Welch beats Todd in Oakman mayor’s race
Oct 10, 2012 | 1536 views | 0 0 comments | 7 7 recommendations | email to a friend | print
OAKMAN — November will bring a new mayor to Oakman. Current council member Dennis Welch defeated incumbent mayor Joyce Todd Tuesday night by a vote of 152 to 104.

A small crowd of supporters for both sides gathered outside the community center to await the election results. After the totals were announced, the candidates shook hands and Todd congratulated and wished Welch the best.

In the original vote, Todd received 65 votes and Welch received 112 of the 240 total votes.

“It’s obvious people wanted a change,” Welch said. “It’s also obvious you don’t have to mudsling or run somebody else down to win.”

Welch also thanked those who encouraged, supported and voted for him in the regular election and in the runoff.

A third candidate, Jackie Anderson, received 64 votes in the original election. She and her husband were also on hand Tuesday night to support the candidates.

The city’s council seats were already settled prior to the runoff. Marion Constant will be the only current council member returning to her seat, while new council members Christopher Harvey, Crystal Glover and Roger Kimbrell were unopposed for their seats. Sarah Wood defeated Myra Heron for council seat 5.

The current council will meet once more before the new mayor and council take over in November. The council had one empty seat, vacated by Jack Smith, who resigned after moving from the city. Council members Steve Windham and Patt Blackwell did not seek re-election.

Burton tops Yow in Sumiton runoff

Floyd Burton won Sumiton's City Council Place 3. He received 229 votes to challenger Joan Yow's 190 votes.