No election needed in Nauvoo
by Daniel Gaddy
Jul 19, 2012 | 2596 views | 0 0 comments | 5 5 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Nauvoo residents will not cast a vote for their council members or mayor in the upcoming election — every local candidate is running unopposed.

The four council members and the new mayor, Dwight Byram, will take office in November.

The Eagle’s efforts to reach Byram were unsuccessful Wednesday.

Town Clerk Sheila Bridgmon said she has worked as Nauvoo’s clerk for seven election cycles and this will be her first in which the town will not hold a municipal election.

Bridgmon said that not having the election will save the town money. For each election, she must appoint election officers, prepare the vote tabulation machines and handle all the paperwork.

“There’s more work in it than people realize,” she said.

No candidates qualified for the council member position previously held by William Wright. Bridgmon said Wright is suffering from kidney failure and will not seek re-election because of medical reasons.

Bridgmon said the new town council and mayor will have to appoint a resident to fill the position once they take office in November. The resident receiving the council member seat will oversee the town’s volunteer fire department.

The following people qualified for candidacy on the Nauvoo Town Council and will take office in November: Lisa Sellers, Randall Rowland, Mitch McDaniel and Deborah Barton.

Nauvoo’s current mayor, Darrell Mote, said he is not seeking re-election because he can no longer dedicate the time the position deserves.

Mote is an investigator with the Walker County Sheriff’s Office. He said his work hours have made it difficult to schedule meetings as Nauvoo’s mayor. Mote also said he has two 15-year-old daughters he would like to spend more time with.

Despite the decision, Mote said he has been honored to serve the town.

“It’s been a great run, and I’ve worked with some wonderful people,” he said.

Bridgmon also announced that the Nauvoo Town Council changed it’s meeting schedule to take place on the fourth Tuesday of every month at 6 p.m. in the Nauvoo Town Hall.