Stephens elected as new Dora mayor
Aug 29, 2012 | 1687 views | 0 0 comments | 7 7 recommendations | email to a friend | print
DORA Randy Stephens, in his first political campaign, received 462 votes, while John Jackson received 223 votes and Henry Morgan received 34. Because Stephens received approximately 64 percent of the vote there will not be a runoff for the position.

“I want to thank all the voters who came out today to support my candidacy,” Stephens said after the results were posted. “I am humbled by the confidence the voters have placed in me.

In addition to the voters, Stephens said he appreciates the other candidates and all the people who helped him with his campaign.

“This was a team effort,” Stephens said. “Many people behind the scenes were working on my behalf. I could not have done this without them. A special thanks to those people. I also want to commend my opponents for their hard work and the positive campaigns they conducted.”

Dora’s council race included 10 candidates, George Sides Jr. received 160 votes, Richard Lovelady received 124 votes, current council members Clyde Nix and Hezikiah Walker received 108 votes and 98 votes respectively, Fire Chief Robbie Busby received 74 votes, council member Gary Thomas received 58 votes and current Mayor Pro Tem Betty Sanders received 33 votes.

Phil Jones received 32 votes, putting him just one vote shy of a council seat. Mason Wallace received 28 votes and David Ross received 10 votes.

Sides, as the council member with the most votes, will be the mayor pro tem for the next administration. He said he looks forward to working with the new mayor and council members.

“I’m just very proud and grateful to the citizens who came out to support me,” Sides said. “I just want to get in there and work hard and keep moving Dora forward.”

@Brief Head:McCain wins Sipsey mayoral election

Sipsey will have a new mayor and mayor pro tem this fall. Current mayor Anita Sanders received 74 votes, while challengers Helen Henson received 12 votes and Belinda McCain received 101 votes. McCain received 54 percent of the vote to win without a runoff.

In the council race for Seat 1, current Mayor Pro Tem Melissa Pearson received 66 votes, while her challenger, Freda Walker Vann received 120 votes to win the seat.

In council Seat 5, Chris Lollar received 88 votes and Willie Wiley received 100 votes to win the seat.