Group to announce Woman of the Year at banquet
by Daniel Gaddy
Oct 05, 2012 | 3286 views | 0 0 comments | 13 13 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The local chapter of the Business and Professional Women’s Foundation will name its Woman of the Year during the group’s annual banquet on Thursday.

The nominees for the title are Jasper Police Chief Connie Cooner Rowe; Marilynn Sanders, owner of Marilynn Sanders Dance Studio; and Jackie Gilbreath, an officer at First Bank of Jasper.

“Each year, the accomplishments of our nominees is humbling, and this year is no exception,” said local chapter president Donna Wesson Smalley in a press release. “Each of these women is an example of what can be accomplished with hard work and dedication, regardless of gender.”

Last year, awards were given to attorney Linda Burns, who also owns a textile business, as well as Linda Lewis, the executive director of the Chamber of Commerce of Walker County.

This year, the guest speaker for the banquet will be syndicated columnist Robin Wiley O’Bryant, author of “Ketchup is a Vegetable and Other Lies Moms Tell Themselves.” O’Bryant’s book and weekly column cover the ups and downs of parenting.

“I plan on making everyone there feel professional by doing everything in my power to be inappropriate and unprofessional,” O’Bryant said. “I'll probably snort while I laugh and talk about things that I shouldn't.”

All of the proceeds from the Business and Professional Women’s annual banquet fund scholarships for women in the area.

Several of the group’s scholarships are meant for women who go to college later in life or those who seek an advanced degree.

The scholarships are awarded in the early summer.

Last year’s winners were Nikke Brooks, Kelsey Alexander, Makenzie Burgett, Chelsea Tubbs, Ashley Stephens and Brittany Clopton.

This year’s banquet will take place at 6:30 at the Community Health Systems Activities Center in Jasper. Tickets are $20 per person and can be purchased from members of the local chapter.

For more information or to purchase tickets, call 205-295-9111.