3 Republicans, 1 Democrat win commission seats
by James Phillips
Nov 07, 2012 | 3929 views | 0 0 comments | 8 8 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Three new members and one incumbent will make up the Walker County Commission after Tuesday’s election.

Dan Wright will be the only returning member of the commission after being re-elected to his District 2 seat in a close race. Wright outlasted former Carbon Hill football coach Davey Reed by only 14 votes — 3.203 to 3,189.

While there was a question over the possibility that provisional votes could change the outcome, Walker County Circuit Clerk Susan Odom said there would not be enough provisional votes to make a difference.

Wright said he planned to continue the work he started during his first term.

“I just want to do all I can do. I’m going to work the same as I have over the last four years, and I’m going to continue to fight for District 2,” Wright said. “I believe the new commission is going to work together and do what’s best for Walker County.”

Reed said he appreciated the support he received.

“It was a close race, but I came up just a little short,” he said. “I’m sorry to the people who supported me that I didn’t work hard enough to win. I wish Dan the best of luck in his second term.”

Along with being the only incumbent, Wright is also the only Democrat remaining on the commission.

“I hope my winning shows that working hard means more than what party you are in,” he said.

In District 1, Republican Keith Davis, a local real estate agent, was elected with 4,175 votes compared to his opponent Jason Akins’ 3,769 votes.

“I’m humbled by the results and would like to thank everyone who voted for me,” Davis said. “The people of Walker County wanted new leadership and new ideas, and I bring that to the table. I’ve enjoyed meeting the people of District 1 during this campaign, and I’m looking forward to serving them for the next four years.”

Akins said he made a point to run a positive campaign and was thankful for the support he received.

“This isn’t it for me,” he said. “I will still find ways to serve the community that I love whether that’s in politics or in other areas.”

In District 4, Republican Steven Aderholt picked up 60 percent of the vote to defeat Democrat Otto Tolbert 3,896 to 3,018.

“I want to thank God, my family and the voters of District 4,” Aderholt said. “This has been a five-year race for me and I’m thankful the voters decided to give me a chance. I’m ready to go to work on day one.”

Tolbert, who is an employee at the District 4 shop, said he’s ready to get back to work.

“I’ve enjoyed this campaign to the fullest,” he said. “I’m very humbled and thankful to the people who went out to vote. My strategy was to get people to vote, and this was a big turnout.”

Republican Bobby Nunnelley will take over the District 3 spot on the commission after picking up 3,767 votes compared to George Fitzpatrick’s 2,723.

“I’m really surprised at the number of people who came out to vote,” Nunnelley said. “I’m glad everybody had the confidence in me to vote for me.”

Fitzpatrick, a Democrat, said he worked hard, but he felt the straight-ticket vote was too much to overcome.

“I think the straight-ticket vote was the difference,” he said. “I feel like I did my best and I appreciate the support of the people who voted for me.”