Eight area schools changing classifications
by Johnathan Bentley
Jan 23, 2014 | 2862 views | 0 0 comments | 32 32 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The landscape of high school athletics in Alabama changed on Wednesday.

The Alabama High School Athletic Association Central Board of Control approved a new classification, Class 7A, which is made up of the largest 32 schools in the state.

Wednesday's announced changes will take affect starting in the 2014-15 school year in all sports.

While the metro areas of Birmingham, Huntsville, Montgomery and Mobile were the most affected by the new classification, the trickle-down effect was felt statewide.

The Daily Mountain Eagle's coverage area was no exception with eight schools changing classifications.

Walker High School is moving up one classification to 6A. The Vikings have been in  5A since 1998. Walker was previously in 6A from 1984 to 1997.

Both Dora and Corner are making the jump from 4A to 5A.

Carbon Hill, Cordova and Curry are going to be in 4A starting next school year. Carbon Hill stays put in 4A while Curry drops from 5A and Cordova moves up from 3A.

Curry is the second-largest 4A school, missing out on the 5A enrollment numbers by just three students.

Oakman, which has been in 2A since 1990, moves up to 3A. The Wildcats are joined by Winston County.

Two area schools — Addison and Sumiton Christian — are moving from 1A to 2A.

Three 1A schools — Parrish, Lynn and Meek — don't change classifications.

The Central Board also voted to allow football teams 11 weeks to schedule 10 games. Schools have the option to play a non-region game the week of Aug. 21-23. Schools who choose that option then have 10 weeks to play the remaining nine regular-season games.

If a school elects to play a jamboree that first week, they will play 10 consecutive weeks starting Aug. 27-28.


Here is a breakdown of the football regions for area teams for 2014-15 and 2015-16, including last year's records.

Class 6A

For the next two seasons, Walker (8-2) will participate in Region 5, which includes traditional powerhouses Briarwood Christian (9-3) and Homewood (9-3). Pelham (6-5), Hueytown (3-7), Minor (4-6), John Carroll (2-8) and Jackson-Olin (2-8) round out the region. Half of the region played in 6A last year — Pelham, Minor, Hueytown and Jackson-Olin.


Class 5A

Dora (5-6) and Corner (5-5) will play in Region 5 along with: Pleasant Grove (10-2), Parker (8-4), Fairfield (5-5), Carver-Birmingham (3-7), Ramsay (2-8) and Wenonah (5-6).


Class 4A

Carbon Hill (0-10), Cordova (2-8) and Curry (2-8) will play in Region 5. Other region members are: Danville (0-10), Fayette County (10-2), Haleyville (10-2) and Hamilton (9-3).


Class 3A

Both Oakman (10-2) and Winston County (4-6) will play in Region 5 along with: Hanceville (9-2), Winfield (6-5), Vinemont (3-7), Susan Moore (2-8), Holly Pond (0-10)


Class 2A

Four 1A teams join 2A, Region 6, including Addison (9-2) and Sumiton Christian (3-6). Other region teams include defending 2A state champion Tanner (13-1), Falkville (9-2), Cold Springs (6-4), Tarrant (3-7) and Southeastern (1-8). Addison, Sumiton Christian, Falkville and Southeastern were in 1A, Region 6 last year.


Class 1A

Next year's 1A, Region 5 is exactly the same as last year's Region 6 with the exception of Meek replacing defending state champion Pickens County. The region includes: Hubbertville (11-3), Berry (7-6), Brilliant (7-5), Marion County (6-4), South Lamar (3-7), Lynn (3-7), Meek (3-7) and Parrish (1-9).