Scholarship program set for Tuesday
by Special to the Eagle
Apr 20, 2014 | 1517 views | 0 0 comments | 119 119 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The 2015 Distinguished Young Woman of Walker County will be selected Tuesday.

The annual scholarship program will be held at 7 p.m. at Rowland Auditorium on the Jasper campus of Bevill State Community College.

Tickets are $10 for adults or $5 for students. They are available from any Crescent Junior Study Club member and will also be sold at the door.

There are four participants: Katherine Odle, Charlee Whitt, Haylee Runyan and Kaytlyn Tuggle. The winner will compete in the Distinguished Young Women of Alabama program in January 2015. Over $100,000 in college scholarships will be awarded.

The 2014 Distinguished Young Woman of Walker County is Nellie Stallsmith, a senior at Walker High School. She was awareded $2,000 in scholarships from the Distinguished Young Women program.

The local program is sponsored by the Crescent Junior Study Club and the Distinguished Young Women of Walker County Scholarship Committee.

There are five areas of competition: scholastic (20 percent), interview (25 percent), talent (25 percent), fitness (15 percent) and self-expression (15 percent).

The choreographer for the program is Christy Hand-Barger of Marilyn Sanders Performing Arts Studio.