Town council discusses splash pad, storm shelter
by Elane Jones
Jun 13, 2014 | 1865 views | 0 0 comments | 29 29 recommendations | email to a friend | print
PARRISH — During the regular monthly meeting of the Parrish Town Council Tuesday, council members addressed several items on their agenda, including the town’s splash pad and the installation of the town’s new community storm shelter.

Parrish Mayor Cedric Ramsey told council members that the town’s splash pad opened for the summer season during the Memorial Day weekend.

Ramsey said the town’s new community storm shelter was also in place, but hadn’t been completed just yet. “They still have to hook up the electricity and install the plumbing before it will be ready for use,” Ramsey said. “But once that’s done, we will be able to open it up to folks who need to take shelter during threat of severe weather.”

The council also heard reports from the town’s various departments, including the police department.

Parrish Police Chief Roderick McConico gave the police report, and the department’s School Resource Officer Steven Yarborough informed the council that the Parrish Police Department had been awarded a $1,000 grant from the Walker Area Community Foundation and the Rotary Club for its DARE program. “The town can also get a grant with no matching funds to pay the SRO officer,” Yarborough said. “But the SAMS account, which expired in November, would have to be re-activated in order to apply for the grant.”

In other business, council member William Smith informed the other council members that the town still had a checking account at the Bank of Hamilton, Parrish Branch. The account reportedly still had the signatures of several former council members on it, including former Mayor Wayne Gross and former council members Marcy Brown and William Banks.

Council member Alice McBee made a motion to remove the names of all the former council members and add Mayor Cedric Ramsey and Council members, Jackie Shanklin and William Smith to the account.

The motion was seconded by Smith and approved by a unanimous vote.