Hudson cruises to title at Musgrove
by Johnathan Bentley
Jul 14, 2014 | 1274 views | 0 0 comments | 24 24 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Scores soared at Sunday at Musgrove Country Club.

One exception was Steve Hudson.

The Jasper native entered the final around of the Travis Hudson/Bernard Weinstein Invitational with a narrow one-stroke lead. He left with his sixth tournament title, winning by nine strokes over an outmatched field in the three-day tournament.

With a final round of three-under par 68, Hudson finished with a three-day total of 203, nine strokes ahead of Jay Hayes, Matt Gourgeot and Micah Jett.

Though his lead slipped from three strokes to one stroke after the second round, Hudson was back in control from the start on Sunday. He opened the round with a par and bogey. After another par, Hudson reeled off five consecutive birdies, starting with the par 5 fifth hole.

By the time the final group made the turn heading into the 10th hole, Hudson held an insurmountable lead. He shot a five-under 30 on the front nine, building a nine-stroke lead over Gourgeot in the process.

Hudson also won the tournament in 1979, 1991, 2003, 2004 and 2010.

Hudson and Nick Davis were the only golfers in the Championship A flight to better thier scores over Saturday's round. Davis shot an even par 71 on Sunday, five better than his second-round score, and finished 11 strokes behind Hudson.

Gourgeot finished tied second place for the second straight year. He had rounds of 69-67-76 for a 212 total, Hayes was consistent with rounds of 70-70-72 for a 212 total and Jett had rounds of 73-67-72 for his 212 total.

Simdre Rambjoer (213) placed fifth followed by Nick Davis (214), Joey Fortner (215), Hunter Fikes (216), Richard Douglas (216), John Coles (216), Alan Pope (216), Sonny Peake (217), Earle Bidez (217), Andrew Hillis (218), Scotty Webb (220) and Charles Noto (224).

John Michael O'Toole, who did not participate this year, won last year's tournament with a 208 total.

Hudson was the only golfer in the Championship A flight to shoot under par on Sunday. Just four golfers shot under par on the day. Jayson Cox, winner of the Championship C flight and Greg Benefield, winner of the First flight, each shot two-under 69 on Sunday while Championship B flight winner Lew Mitchell shot a one-under 70.


Other flight winners

Championship B flight

Lew Mitchell (215)

Championship C flight

Jayson Cox (218)

Championship D flight

Brian Baker (226)

First flight

Greg Benefield (231)

Second flight

David Toner (239)

Third flight

Hunter Barton (255)