Walker County Bomb Squad explodes in South Haven
by Ben Hamilton
Jul 29, 2010 | 3011 views | 0 0 comments | 12 12 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The Walker County Bomb Squad has officially exploded.

Walker County has reached the Dizzy Dean Baseball 10-and-under championship and will face Tallahassee, Fla. in a rematch to bring home the title.

The Bomb Squad has already beaten Tallahassee to start the tournament, claiming a narrow 11-10 victory, and still has to be beaten twice to be eliminated.

The championship game is set for a 10 a.m. start today from South Haven, Miss.

Head coach Richard Hicks hopes to notch the final win without seeing any of his players suffer any injuries.

Walker County made the trip with only nine players, just enough to field a team.

“One injury and were out if it,” said Hicks. “We’re the only team that made this trip with only nine players. But we came here expecting to do well.

“We’re hoping for the best but planning for the worst. Hopefully, everything will go well in the championship and we can bring it home.”

Everything has been going very well for the Bomb Squad so far.

Walker County has gotten off to a 4-0 start in tournament play, with all four wins coming against state champion teams.

After edging Tallahassee, the Bomb Squad followed with a 17-1 thrashing of Tupelo, Miss. in three innings before topping Huffman 15-10 and Sandy Springs, Ga. 8-4.

The last local baseball team to claim a world series title was Boldo in 2007.

Members of the team include; Ben Hicks, Parker Anderson, Clay Butler, Ethan Walker, Slade Harbin, John Avery, Zack Phillips, Elijah DeJesus and Demetrius Kirk.

Assistant coaches are; Jamie Butler, Jamie Anderson and Josh McGinnis.